Two More State Laws Banning Over-the-Counter Cough Medicine Sales Take Effect

Tennessee and New Jersey are the latest states to enact legislation prohibiting sales of over-the-counter (OTC) cough medicines containing dextromethorphan (DXM) to minors. The laws are designed to decrease the abuse rate of these medicines by teens, while maintaining access for legitimate consumers of these products.

Tennessee’s law took effect January 1, 2016, while New Jersey’s law took effect February 1. California was the first state to prohibit sales to minors in 2012. Other states that ban DXM sales to minors include New York, Arizona, Louisiana, Virginia, Kentucky and Washington.

The Consumer Healthcare Products Association (CHPA) supports federal legislation to ban the sale of OTC cough medicine to those aged 17 or younger nationwide, according to Jenni Roberson, Director of Communications and Media Relations.

Full story of states banning over the counter cough medicine at

Published by

Will Savage

Quantum Units Continuing Education provides online CEU training's to licensed professional mental health therapists, counselors, social workers and nurses. Our blog provides updates in the field of news and research related to mental health and substance abuse treatment.